Is listening to audio books as beneficial as reading them?

Answer by Raakhee Venugopal:

Thank you for the A2A.
I am not sure about how beneficial they are, but I find myself getting easily distracted when I’m listening to an audio book rather than when I’m reading a print version.
audiobooks
I am a ‘thinking’ reader, you could say. It’s seldom that I read a book without thinking deeply about it. Quite often, I find myself flipping a few pages backwards to read a part once again. I read mostly serious books and casually reading such books result in missing some really beautiful literary gems that the author would have stealthily hidden. This would be difficult for me while listening to an audio book. I tend to concentrate more on the story line than on the subtleties. Audio books are great if you’re not interested in thinking too much about what has been written. And when you’re in a situation where reading a print book is difficult.
audiobooks1
young-woman-in-amazon-audible-audiobook-ad-showing-whispersync-for-voice1
As long as you enjoy it, I guess any medium is great! 🙂

Is listening to audio books as beneficial as reading them?

Leave a Reply

