What makes a person lose the ability to handle violence in movies and tv shows?

Answer by Raakhee Venugopal:

I can’t handle it. I never could. It wasn’t like I lost my ability to handle it. In fact, watching a violent movie used to leave me disturbed for days on end. And then it’s hello to sleepless nights. I’d attribute this to my over-imaginative mind that conjures up all kinds of thoughts and dreams and nightmares based on any violence I see. I can handle standard fight scenes. It’s the gory stuff that gets me nauseous. I’m a person who has grown up reading soft literature like Jane Austen and Charlotte Bronte. So it was pretty typical to get involved with the characters so much that you actually live in those times in your mind. This pattern continued when I watched movies too. When somebody’s head was blown apart, the feelings within me were like I was right there watching the whole scene in front of me with the blood splattering over my face too! It’s gets way too disturbing. I hate it when somebody tells me with a chuckle ”It’s only a movie!” No it’s not. It’s going to be the subject of my nightmares for the next two weeks. Thank you very much. 😡

What makes a person lose the ability to handle violence in movies and tv shows?

Leave a Reply

