Will you feel happy if you live in a country where it’s raining everyday most of the year?

Answer by Raakhee Venugopal:

For the record, I love the rains. I grew up in the middle east and I’m originally from Kerala, India, which is a state that receives a LOT of rainfall every year.

Every year during the monsoons, my heart and soul reach out to memories of idling along the veranda of our home on a rainy day, sipping on hot coffee and biting into a pazham pori or murukku.

The rains enter and exit India through Kerala, thus giving us two rainy seasons – One in June called Edava paathi (arriving monsoons) and then the more ferocious one in October called Thulaa varsham (retreating monsoons). Rains are a part of every Keralite’s life and soul. We love it (and hate it) passionately. But the overall sentiment towards rains in Kerala is one of fondness. More rains means more water for agriculture, more water in the rivers, in the dams, etc.

I remember being just as excited to ‘enjoy’ the rains when we visited Madikeri in Coorg (Karnataka). I was in for a real surprise. Nowhere else had I felt so much like a wet cat as I did all thorough my stay in Madikeri :-/

It was cold and raining and my clothes refused to get dry! I tried everything to get them to dry – ironing, blowing them with the hair dryer, spreading them across chairs under the fan, everything! But in vain. I had never felt so cold and sticky and damp and smelling like a wet towel dried indoors (ewww!) at the same time ever before in my life! To overcome that stupid damp smell, I had to pour cologne all over me. And I ended up smelling even worse! *facepalm* I remember wondering aloud to my family ‘How are these people wearing dry clothes? Do they have some magical dryers at home? Oh God!’ The air was laden with mist that settled on our clothes and even on our bedclothes! It was only in Madikeri that I wished for the sun to be out for once. We have visited Madikeri several times after that trip and I make it a point to carry plenty of extra clothes and underwear especially for the visit. Madikeri is a breathtakingly beautiful town but the monsoons are so NOT the time to visit it, especially if you don’t have a bag full of spare underwear. Period.

Will you feel happy if you live in a country where it’s raining everyday most of the year?

Leave a Reply

