What is the one temple you must visit before you die?

Answer by Raakhee V. Menon:

Thank you for the A2A.

The temple I’m about to suggest is in no way grand or famous for its exquisite architecture or anything of the sort. But to me, it is the closest to heaven on earth. I would definitely recommend Kashi Vishwanath Temple, Varanasi, India.

I have traveled across the country and visited many temples. But the sense of bliss that I got when I visited Kashi Vishwanath Temple cannot to be compared to any other. Every inch of land in Kashi is blessed.

To be able to go there, to visit the temple, to see the Ghats, to see the Ganga aarti in the evening…everything is a very surreal experience. One gets to see the actual circle of life there…from whence we have come, thence we shall return. As I write this answer, I am reminded of the reverberations of the damru that is played at the temple during the puja. I can almost hear it in my head.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=…

The Ganga aarti in the evening is a sight to behold.

The priests create such an ambiance that one feels like one is not on earth any more. It’s so very easy to just slip into a trance among all those chantings and elaborate body movements, the heady fragrance of incense that fills the evening air, the teeming crowds with just one name on their lips…Om Namah Shivaaya! Om namah Shivaaya! Om Namah Shivaaya!

I wouldn’t mind going here a hundred times more. And if I am told that I can visit only one temple before I die, I would choose only Kashi 🙂

Jai Bholenath! _()_

What is the one temple you must visit before you die?

Leave a Reply

