What are the biggest ironies in the world?

Answer by Raakhee V. Menon:

This one’s my favorite…

Although cooking is traditionally considered to be a woman’s ‘department’ in most households (especially Indian ones), almost all of the world’s greatest cooks are men – Gordon Ramsay, Jamie Oliver, Wolfgang Puck, etc.

Yes, there are famous women chefs too, but the men are clearly way up there at the top. Even in India, the most famous cooks are men – Sanjeev Kapoor, Vikas Khanna, Atul Kochhar, Harpal Singh Sokhi, etc.

If that isn’t ironic, I don’t know what is. Most men I know claim not to know how to make themselves a cup of coffee. Prospective mothers-in-law ask their prospective daughters-in-law if she knows how to cook because her darling son cannot do anything in the kitchen. If a man does show some interest in cooking, his peers laugh at him and his family frowns at him, as this is something for women and cooking by a man is considered unmanly. Well…

I don’t see any loss of masculinity there. Do you?

I have even seen my friends gush about how cute their husbands looked while trying to ‘help’ them in the kitchen and upsetting the whole place. I used to be like “There’s nothing ‘cute’ about making an idiot of themselves in the kitchen. It’s not like they just can’t cook. They are as perfectly capable of cooking as any of you are. They just don’t want to give you that impression. Will such a behavior from your end be seen as cute? Like if you make a fool of yourself in the kitchen? No, right? Then stop encouraging this childishness. It is women like you who is fueling this since generations

Ah yes, I have lost a few friends in the process. But at least I spoke my mind. I find nothing wrong in a man actually liking to cook. In fact, I’d have immense respect for such a person.

What are the biggest ironies in the world?

Leave a Reply

