What is something you pretend to understand, but really don’t?

Answer by Raakhee V. Menon:

Computer Specifications

Despite the fact that we had a paper on basic computing in Grade 8 where we had to study all the terminologies and actually write an exam on it. I even went on to become an engineer. And yet, I don’t understand head or tail of the entire PC specifications mumbo-jumbo.

I’m referring to this stuff…

When we buy a laptop or computer for the home, I (being ‘the engineer’) am automatically consulted about the purchase and when I’m shown the specifications, I make a face as if I’ve got it all figured out, when in reality I’m just staring at dancing numbers and random abbreviations that look anything but intelligible to my poor brain.

Trust me I have tried to decipher the whole thing, but of no avail. I just don’t get it, and yet I don’t want people to think that I’m a useless engineer because I don’t know crap about computers. There’s no point in explaining to people that I am NOT a computer engineer and so it’s totally okay if I don’t know so much in detail about computers. People tend to think that once you’re an engineer, you will be able to fix anything from a broken fuse to a super computer -_-

So I pretend to read it, give it an initial frown to add to the effect, then give it a smile and an approving nod, and hope for the best for the unsuspecting buyer.

What is something you pretend to understand, but really don’t?

Leave a Reply

