Who is the most frequent author on your bookshelf?

Answer by Raakhee V. Menon:

Actually I don’t have a favorite author as such. Y’know, the kind where I would hoard every one of their books? My bookshelves look like a potpourri of various genres by all sorts of authors.

Among paperbacks, the most frequent authors on my shelves are Jane Austen, Amish Tripathi and J.K. Rowling. Although I have eBooks of all their books, I still prefer to read them on paperback. Some books deserve to be read only in that way 🙂 Besides these, there’d be a smattering of Shobaa De’s non-fiction works, some religious books, some books by Paulo Coelho, Steig Larsson and Khalid Hosseini, and somewhere in a corner, Stephanie Meyer’s Twilight series.

My eBook library is far more diverse. There’d be quite a few collections of books by various authors. I have dedicated folders that contain all the books written by Ashok Banker, Rohinton Mistry, Robin Cook, Dan Brown, J.R.R.Tolkien, Anita Nair, Jhumpa Lahiri, Vikram Seth, Chitra Bannerjee Divakaruni, Kavita Kane, Indu Sundaresan, Nicholas Sparks, Stephen King, Sidney Sheldon, G.R.R.Martin, Anuja Chauhan, etc.

Typically, I don’t blindly start reading a book just because it was penned by an author whose work I liked earlier. I read the back-cover synopsis and if it appeals to me, I start to read it. I liked Chetan Bhagat’s books until ‘Two States’. I never felt the urge to read any of his books after that. I don’t think I will either. So my choices keep changing.

Who is the most frequent author on your bookshelf?

Leave a Reply

