What is the most visually-stunning movie ever made?

Answer by Raakhee V. Menon:

I guess it would come as no surprise if I were to nominate some of my most favorite movies ever in this answer. To set things straight, I’m a person who gives a LOT of importance to how something (and even someone, for that matter) is presented. I do appreciate good cinema but I totally dig that exhilarating feeling that I get when I see visual grandeur on screen.

Here are some of my top picks…

Devdas

So people cried buckets over the heartbreaking story line. But there I was sitting stunned at the what I was seeing on screen. I don’t know if it had anything to do with the exquisite beauty of the two leading ladies – Madhuri Dixit and Aishwarya Rai – but the movie was a complete stunner in the looks department. Everything from the elaborate sets to the costumes and jewelry was mind-blowing!

The song sequences, the choreography, the cinematography…I’d suggest Devdas to anyone looking to fall in love with the grandeur of Indian cinema!

Hum Dil De Chuke Sanam

I love the way the desert has been romanticized in this amazing movie.

Salman Khan and Aishwarya Rai’s crackling chemistry adds spice to the already awesome story.

Baahubali

Need I say anything more?

Baahubali has almost become synonymous with grandeur!

Titanic

No matter how many times I watch this movie over and over again, it never fails to overwhelm me.

Bajirao Mastani

Elaborate sets, beautiful costumes, amazing songs…this movie is a must watch for all Bollywood fans.

Jodhaa Akbar

image

Ditto as above. The amount of hard work that has gone into making some of India’s most expensive movie sets is one that’s worth seeing.

Plus you have two of India’s most beautiful looking people playing the key roles, which becomes the icing on the cake.

Ram Leela

Ram Leela was unconventionally grand, if I may say so.

For a Romeo & Juliet story based right out of Kutch in Gujarat, this was an amazing movie in terms of visual beauty.

I love the balcony scenes between Ram and Leela…but of course the balcony scenes have to be stunning, no? This is ‘Romeo & Juliet’ we’re talking about, remember? ^_^

Khoobsurat

This is for all the girls out there who grew up dreaming of becoming a princess one day.

I’d watch this again just to drink in all that Rajputana glory and those lovely palaces.

Elizabeth

My romance with British history was finally rewarded with Shekhar’s Kapur’s magnum opus. Both parts of the movie were absolute delights to watch.

Cate Blanchett rose several notches up my respect list after I watched these movies.

Harry Potter series

Would anyone disagree?

I think not.

The Hobbit & The Lord of the Rings series

I know the book fans would cringe at the mere mention of Peter Jackson’s versions of the LOTR universe, but he has done full justice to whatever it is that he chose to show.

The costumes and the locales deserve full marks. I read the books after watching the movies.

So I have faces for all the characters and it’s even more fun when I read the dialogues in their voices ^_^

The Duchess

Did Kiera Knightley’s costume designer get any awards for her dresses in this movie?

I didn’t have time to follow the dialogues much as I was gawping at her beautiful gowns all through the movie. Ohhh boy!

The Other Boleyn Girl

Another visual treat for aficionados of Tudor history. Yes I agree that Eric Bana as King Henry was a bit too much to stomach, but the women looked gorgeous in all that silk and tulle.

To me, Anne & Mary Boleyn will only have the faces of Natalie Portman and Scarlett Johansson.

Saanwariya

No comments about the storyline, but the sets were nothing short of awesome.

Independence Day

I’m not really a sci-fi kinda person and Independence Day  was one of the first real sci-fi flick that I saw. And to say that I was thrilled would be an understatement. Maybe there are the way better movies than this one, but to me, this is the first sci-fi movie I saw and I will always love it.

Zindagi Na Milegi Dobaara

Spain, Spain and some more Spain.

Despite the gorgeous people on screen, it’s Spain that takes my breath away in this lovely movie about good ol’ bromance.

Lagaan

Recreating an arid desert village set in pre-independence India is no mean feat. And Ashutosh Gowariker struck gold with this masterpiece.

I love the way they have thrown in snippets of colonial British life here and there to show the sharp contrast.

Bombay Velvet

Another Saawariya style movie. No comments about the story or the acting, but the movie sets are simply out of this world!

Veeram

That’s Shakespeare’s Macbeth set in Kerala for you ^_^

Kunal Kapoor looks magnificent in his bulked up avatar and the fight scenes are a treat to watch. I could keep staring at those locations forever!

Transformers

I have never looked at cars the same way after I watched this movie 😀

Prem Ratan Dhan Payo

Another typical Rajshri family flick based on ‘The Prisoner of Zenda’.

But the grandeur of the sets are something that I would definitely recommend this movie for.

Border

This one’s a definite watch for all army fans. There have been several movies that came out based on wars, but this one will always remain No. 1 for me.

Kabhi Khushi Kabhi Gham

And I saved the best one for the last ^_^ Think Bollywood, think Kabhi Khushi Kabhi Gham. It has all the elements of a typical Bollywood flick. What I like the most about it is the visual extravaganza that is offered.

I love everything about this movie…the costumes, the shooting locations, the songs, the dances, everything. A must-watch for any Bollywood movie fan 🙂

What is the most visually-stunning movie ever made?

Leave a Reply

